Skip to Main Content

Finding Data and Statistics Sources: Locating Statistics

Locating Statistics

  • A large variety of online and print sources exist.
  • New data sources become available on almost a daily basis (especially online).
  • The exact data you are seeking might not exist.
  • Your chosen topic may blur with other topics making it difficult to sort out which source would be best.

It may be difficult to compare statistical data from different sources—units of measure, time periods, and other variables may differ.

Compiled statistics can be:

  • Difficult to read and interpret because the information is presented in an unfamiliar format or it is poorly constructed.
  • Embedded in tables and graphics or buried in a web site or print source. This can make it difficult to conduct a successful search.
  • Analyzed inappropriately or inaccurately.
  • Presented in a format that does not exactly match your needs.
  • Available only through subscription or fee-based services.
  • Available only In print.

Data sets can be challenging to use because they may be...

  • Different sources published data in different formats making it challenging to compare data.
  • Data format does not match your needs.
  • Difficult to use because of their large size.
  • Available only through subscription or fee-based services.
  • Difficult to read and interpret because the information is presented in an unfamiliar format or it is poorly constructed.

Before you start your search:

  • Allow enough time to locate and find the desired information.
  • Define your information need.  Establish a clear understanding of what statistics you want.
  • Remain flexible! If you're not finding what you're looking, you may need to modify your goals.
  • Choose a topic that is likely to be of interest to those who conduct surveys or collect data.

Before beginning your search, or if you are having trouble locating a source, check with your professor to see if she or he can recommend particular sources for the topic you have chosen.

As you search:

  • Print sources, which may be more stable than data on the Internet, may be a good source for compiled statistics on general data or the same set of statistics for multiple locations.
  • Be prepared to check numerous sources before finding what you need.
  • Choose the source carefully—start with subject-specific sources.
  • If you are using an online database that you are not familiar with, be sure to use the help options to facilitate your searching.

Remember—if you are not finding what you need, are having a difficult time locating a source, or are not sure how to use a database, always ask for assistance from a librarian!

  • Statistical databases are electronic files that contain statistical information. The databases may contain raw data, (or data sets), or compiled statistics.
  • Some statistical databases are free, there is no charge to search them. These are often databases provided by the federal government.
  • Other databases are available only by subscription. The library has subscriptions to several statistical databases.
  • You will receive better results by searching for your information within each database, rather than searching across multiple databases.
  • How you phrase your search query will impact the results of a search.
  • Using different keywords will result in different retrieval results—even within the same database.  You may need to conduct more than one search to find the information that you need.
  • Good terms for finding statistics include report, research, study, survey, and statistics—along with a keyword for the specific topic.
  • Most databases provide help files to assist you in locating the information that you need.

Remember to ask a librarian if you need assistance!

  • Some data is available for free on the Internet or through other sources. Government sources of statistics are usually free to the public.
  • Some statistics are only available from subscription databases. In such a case, a fee is paid in order to be able to access the desired information. Libraries often buy statistical information in order to make it available to library users.
  • Some data, particularly older data and specialized data, is available only in print format.  Generally, you should not expect to rely exclusively on electronically available information, but plan to use print resources that are available in the library as well.
  • Sometimes statistics will appear within newspaper or magazine articles.  These statistics should always have a citation, or footnote, that tells you where to look for the original source of the data.
  • The amount of information available electronically, both for free and through subscriptions, grows daily.  

There is a vast amount of statistical information available through a variety of sources.  Ask a librarian for help if you are not sure where to look for the statistics you need!
 

Yes, however, it is important to know that web search engines, such as Google or Yahoo!, are unable to search the contents of print or subscription databases.  It can be inefficient to search for statistics using a web search engine.  In any case, you should never start your statistical research with a general web search.

re-use/adapt note

The Information in this guide was re-used and adapted with permission of Angela Bonnell of Illinois State University, Milner Library.