Research Guides: Finding Data and Statistics Sources: Resources

Library Databases

Hints for database searching:

Words used in a search impact results. Different keywords get different results—even within a database. Search and search again to find what you need.
Use a keyword or two AND the terms report, research, study, survey, data, and statistics.
Contact a Librarian if you need help!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access to over 750,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Quantitative facts of American history, including data on history, economics, government, finance, sociology, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and more.
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
Business reports including industry market research; U.S. industry risk ratings and company research; global industry research; selected economic and demographic data. Market analysis includes overviews, industry performance/outlook, competitive/regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions, and key statistics.
Sage Data Foundations This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, education, criminal justice, housing/construction, labor/employment, energy, and more. From public, private/commercial, nongovernmental organizations, and Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
Data Planet Foundations This link opens in a new window
Datasets covering a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, nongovernmental organizations, and Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.

Census Bureau
Serves as the leading source of quality data about the people and economy of the United States.
Data.Census.Gov
Provides access to data from several censuses and surveys about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
Current Population Survey (CPS) Census Bureau and Bureau of Labor Statistics
Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.
Our World in Data (Oxford Martin School, University of Oxford)
UNdata
Statistics on the labor market, consumer price indices, international merchandise trade, energy, crime, gender, nutrition and health, science and technology, finance, environment, Internet usage, tourists and tourism, and more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
Internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication.
Topics Found in Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) - University of Michigan
World Bank Open Data Easily locate, download, and use World Bank data free of charge with minimal restrictions. Topics include debt, energy, environment, financial sector, infrastructure, and a lot more.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Find information on issues like economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Data on all modes of transportation.
U. S. Census Bureau
Extensive collection of statistical reports and data about U.S. people and economics.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Data and statistics categorized by broad topic. Page also provides links to additional sources of health data.
Childstats.gov
Statistics on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Congressional Budget Office
Provides Congress with analyses to aid in economic and budgetary processes. Reports may be searched or browsed by subject.
Data.gov
Allows users to locate, download, and utilize datasets generated by Executive Branch agencies.
Defense Management Data Center
Military and civilian defense personnel and casualty statistics.
Economic Research Service
Statistics related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.
Election Statistics
Official vote counts for federal elections since 1920.
Energy Information Administration
Data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports and prices.
ForeignAssistance.gov
Presents data about the U.S. government's foreign assistance funding. Data is viewable by country, sector, or year and can also be queried for user-generated tables.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Presents statistics covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
National Center for Education Statistics
Presents statistics and reports related to education, literacy, and libraries.
National Center for Health Statistics
Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.
Office of Immigration Statistics
Presents data on immigrants by legal status.
USA.gov
Data and statistics by topic.

Data.gov
Data.gov is primarily a federal open government data site that follows the terms of the 2013 Federal Open Data Policy.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
Data sets on voting, public opinion, and political participation
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA)
IPUMS-USA collects, preserves, documents, and disseminates United States census data.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. The BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Agricultural Statistics Annual
Offers statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Annual Energy Review
Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Condition of Education
Presents statistical indicators containing text, figures, and tables describing important developments in the status and trends of education from early childhood learning through graduate-level education.

Data Planet Foundations This link opens in a new window
Datasets from the United States cover a wide range of subjects - including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.

Digest of Education Statistics
Contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Health, United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics. Website archives issues back to 1975.
Monthly Labor Review
Presents research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and many more.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The place to discover, access, and analyze data on crime and justice; includes the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
National Transportation Statistics
Presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security.
Survey of Current Business
Presents the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
Treasury Bulletin
Presents data and narrative related to Treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, liabilities, and financial commitments of the U.S. government.
Uniform Crime Reports
Provides access to FBI statistical publications, including Crime in the United States and Hate Crime Statistics, 1995-present.
World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Provides annual data on foreign nationals who were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns.

Finding Data and Statistics Sources: Resources

Library Databases

Internet Sources by Subject

re-use/adapt note

Ask a Librarian