Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Very Short Introduction ebooks
Myth: a Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Where do myths come from? What is their function and what do they mean? ...this Very Short Introduction...introduces the array of approaches used to understand the study of myth.
Egyptian Myth by
Publication Date: 2004-07-08
Illuminates the complex world of Egyptian myth.
Fairy Tale: a Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
The author digs into a rich hoard of fairy tales...in order to define a genre and evaluate a literary form that keeps shifting through time and history.
Dictionaries and reference (ebooks)
Brewer's dictionary of phrase & fable by
Call Number: Electronic book
Publication Date: 2014
Much loved for its wit and wisdom since 1870, Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable takes you on a captivating adventure through its trademark blend of language, culture, myth, and legend.
Dictionary of classical mythology by
Publication Date: 2014
A -- Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters
Myths and Legends by
Publication Date: 2006-01-05
...explores how artists have drawn on mythology since the dawn of the Renaissance.
The Truth of Myth by
Publication Date: 2020-03-02
...a thorough and accessible introduction to the study of myth, surveying the intellectual history of the topic, methods for studying myth cross-culturally, and emerging trends. ...especially useful in conjunction with case studies of individual mythological traditions.
Dictionary of Celtic Mythology by
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
A fascinating and accessible guide to the gods and goddesses, heroes and heroines, magical weapons, fabulous beasts, and otherworld entities of Celtic Mythology.
Search for articles on your topic...
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications in the humanities.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics, includes literature from all over the world.