Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tri-C Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find books, magazines, journals, newspapers, and audio visual materials.
He, Him, His
Subject Liaison for: American Sign Language/Deaf Interpretive Services
, Criminal Justice
, English as a Second Language
, Foreign Languages
, General Studies
, Hospitality Management
, Physical Education
, Political Science
, Religious Studies
, Sport & Exercise Studies
, Urban Studies
, Women's Studies
General Multicultural Online Reference Tools
American Civil Liberties Union
Web site of "our nation's guardian of liberty, working daily in courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to all people in this country by the Constitution and laws of the United States."
Culture Matters: The Peace Corps Cross Cultural Workbook
"Teachers and students in classrooms from 8th grade to college can benefit from the cross-cultural training workbook, Culture Matters, specifically developed by the Peace Corps to help new Volunteers acquire the knowledge and skills to work successfully and respectfully in other cultures."
Minority Links from the US Census Bureau
"Quick and easy links to the latest data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States." Includes Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino, Asian/Pacific Islander, and American Indian/Alaska Native populations.
Created by educators from the University of Virginia, the Multicultural Pavilion "provide(s) resources for educators, students, and activists to explore and discuss multicultural education; facilitate(s) opportunities for educators to work toward self-awareness and development; and provide(s) forums for educators to interact and collaborate toward a critical, transformative approach to multicultural education."
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
"The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a research unit of The New York Public Library. A national research library, it is devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world, with emphasis on blacks in the Western Hemisphere."
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project
Produced by the Stanford University "the King Papers Project is a major research effort to assemble and disseminate historical information concerning Martin Luther King, Jr. and the social movements in which he participated. The King Papers Project's principal mission is to publish a definitive fourteen-volume edition of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts."
US Commission on Civil Rights
Supporting all aspects of the Commission's mission, this web site provides recent reports, news briefings, papers pertaining to Civil Rights issues.
Cultures & Ethnicities Online Reference Tools
American Jewish Historical Society
"The mission of the American Jewish Historical Society is to foster awareness and appreciation of the American Jewish heritage and to serve as a national scholarly resource for research through the collection, preservation and dissemination of materials relating to American Jewish history."
Arab American Institute
"Founded in 1985, the Arab American Institute (AAI) is a nonprofit organization committed to the civic and political empowerment of Americans of Arab descent. AAI provides policy, research and public affairs services to support a broad range of community activities."
Asian-Nation: The Landscape of Asian America
This site "serves as concise but comprehensive information resource on the Asian American community. Its purposes are to: Educate those who would like to know more about the Asian American population; Provide general and specific information about different topics and issues that affect the Asian American community; and Identify other sources of information related to Asian Americans." The attractive web site, developed by a PhD Candidate from the University of Albany, is a great source of information.
Directory of Hindu Resources Online
This web site "is dedicated to Hindu solidarity, culture and the dissemination of the vast and timeless knowledge of our great Sanatana Dharma to all the people of the world. This is a public service of Himalayan Academy, publishers of Hinduism Today Magazine. The goal of www.hindu.org is to publish and connect all Hindu organizations, leaders and resources such as news, events, publications, Vedic sciences, art, music and culture on the Internet's World Wide Web.
"NativeWeb is an international, nonprofit, educational organization dedicated to using telecommunications including computer technology and the Internet to disseminate information from and about indigenous nations, peoples, and organizations around the world; to foster communication between native and non-native peoples; to conduct research involving indigenous peoples' usage of technology and the Internet; and to provide resources, mentoring, and services to facilitate indigenous peoples' use of this technology."
The Germans in America, from the Library of Congress European Reading Room
"Presentation provides information about immigration from the German-speaking world to the United States, and about the activities of German immigrants in the United States from the 17th to the 20th centuries. Information is contained in a chronology, bibliography, maps, photographs and other pictorial sources, links to the Library of Congress' American Memory project, and to relevant materials in Library of Congress exhibit, Religion and the Founding of the American Republic, and links to other Internet sites in the United States and Germany."
The Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
"The Hispanic Reading Room serves as the primary access point for research relating to those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania."
The National Italian American Foundation
"The National Italian American Foundation (NIAF) is the major advocate in Washington, DC for nearly 25 million Italian Americans, the nation's fifth largest ethnic group. Its mission is to preserve and protect Italian American heritage and culture. Through its many programs, the NIAF: Helps young Italian Americans with their educations and careers; Works closely with Congress and the White House to promote the appointment of Italian Americans in government; Encourages the teaching of Italian language and culture in U.S. schools; Monitors the portrayal of Italian Americans by the news and entertainments industries; and strengthens cultural and economic ties between Italy and the U.S."
The Polish American Association
Based in Chicago, Illinois, the Polish American Association, a non-profit organization, supports the mission "to serve the diverse needs of the Polish community in the Chicago metro area by providing resources for changing lives, with emphasis on assisting immigrants." The web site contains local as well as an abundant amount of information directed to Polish American communities across the nation.