Finding Articles - ENG 2320 - Reyes - Research Guides at Cuyahoga Community College

Thematic Periods

Realism and Naturalism

Regionalism

Post-Civil War Polemic

Modernism

Harlem Renaissance

Post-War Literature

Post-Modernism and Contemporary Literature

Scholarly vs. Popular
This chart explains how popular magazines differ from scholarly journals.

Use these sources to research literary criticism, author biographies, or to study the themes of particular works.

Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Reference works focusing on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications in the humanities.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Includes over 300 full-text periodicals; and nearly 700 indexed and abstracted journals, 470 of which are peer-reviewed.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics, includes literature from all over the world.

Learn quick visual tips for identifying the difference between a scholarly and popular article. [Created by Wayne State University Libraries.]

Email Me

Contact:

216.987.4655

Office Hours:
Mon 10am-12pm
Tues 10am-1pm
Wed 1pm-3pm
Thur 2pm-5pm