Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Paper Options
Select one of the following questions:
- Why is the setting of the play important?
- Why is Troy Maxson considered an "everyman" character?
- Explain the play's principal metaphor of the fence.
- Is Rose's character an example of feminism or an example of the repressed role of women in society?
- Discuss the cycle of father-son relationships in the play.
Literary Reference Center Plus
A comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
Literary Resource Center
Explore biographical and critical information, historical context, and social implications. The Literature Resource Center includes full-text journal articles, and literary terms and plot summaries.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Reference works focusing on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Humanities International Complete
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications in the humanities.
New York Times : 1980 - Present
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text for 185 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.
Must include 4 sources from magazines, newspapers, books, or scholarly articles.
One source must be an academic, peer-reviewed journal.
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, or other reference material may be used but they do not count as one of the four sources.
Do not use websites!
Cite in MLA format.
Research Databases for Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Complete
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.
Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
Provides full text of journal articles and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Gender Studies Database
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Ask a Librarian
|Email a Librarian
Send a reference question to the Tri-C librarians;
we will respond within 2 working days
(Monday through Friday).
|Phone the Reference Desk
Please visit the COVID-19 Research Guide for library services.
|Chat with Us
Click here to chat with us
Librarian Virtual Hours
Friday & Saturday 9am-2pm
E-Resources always available