Essay #3 - ENG 1010 - Reyes - Research Guides at Cuyahoga Community College

Essay #3 Comparison/Contrast

Essay #3 Comparison/Contrast and Persuasive Essay

Pick two products or two services. Compare and contrast them in order to make some point about them.

Use at least 1 article
- popular magazine
- trade publication
- newspaper
- journal article
Use MLA Citation Style
Include a Works Cited page
2-3 pages long

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Washington Post, The Washington Times, USA Today, Christian Science Monitor, Toronto Star.
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

Download the chart!

U.S. Census
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau

Consumer Reports Magazine
Presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers.

MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of popular magazines covering general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural topics.
MAS Ultra: School Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas (for high school students).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analysis and more back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

Learn quick visual tips for identifying the difference between a scholarly and popular article. [Created by Wayne State University Libraries.]

Email Me

Contact:

216.987.4655

Office Hours:
Mon 10am-12pm
Tues 10am-1pm
Wed 1pm-3pm
Thur 2pm-5pm