African American Literature: Historical Databases & Resources

Click the link above, then click "List of Journals" and filter by History.

20th Century African-American Poetry contains 12,000 poems by more than 100 African-American poets, including Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes, Rita Dove, and emerging poets. Biographical profiles accompany each poets work.

African-American Poetry 1760-1900 includes the full text of almost 3000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Contains 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets.

Contains 440 works of 80 novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850.

Information about African American History Month. This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.

A website from the National Archives. The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience, and highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.

This site guides researchers to collections in several Library divisions that specifically focus on the Civil Rights movement as well as the broader topic of African American history and culture. The Civil Rights History Project Collection (AFC 2010/039) contains 401 items consisting of video files, videocassettes, digital photographs and interview transcripts, with several more such items to be added once the interviews conclude in 2015.

The National Museum of African American History and Culture is a Smithsonian Institution museum established in December 2003.