An easy to use resource for starting your research. Provides background information from dictionaries and encyclopedias on a wide array of topics ranging from Art to Technology. Wiki alternative
Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
The resources listed below provide access to 1000s of scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Use these sources to find credible quality information about your topic.
An online resource that includes articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines; audio; videos; opinion essays; and primary sources on current controversial issues. A good source of topic ideas for papers and speeches.
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.
Pros and cons on today’s complex social issues. Includes critical current issues and enduring social issues with full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference material from over 1,800 national and international sources.
Compare commercial websites (.com) with government, educational, and organizational websites (.gov, .edu, .org). Here are some evaluation methods:
Media Bias
To limit to authoritative websites, choose a preferred domain (.edu, .gov or .org) by adding site:.domain
Example: Add site:.org to your search.
NOTE: Be sure not to include spaces between site: and the domain.
To remove items, use the minus sign.
Example: Add -wiki at the end of your search phrase
For natural phrases, such as school choice, use quotation marks.
Example: "school choice"
To search within a specific website in Google, use the site command.
Example:
site:NPR.org
