Records - ENG 1020 - Fales - Research Guides at Cuyahoga Community College

Immigration

Ancestry.com
Requires subscription. Provides easy access to more than 4,000 genealogy databases. Coverage focuses primarily on the United States and the United Kingdom, although other areas are covered. Databases include the complete U.S. Census & Index (1790-1930), vital, church, court, and immigration records.
Ellis Island
1820-1957. Information on Port of New York immigrants from passenger records. Search using passenger or ship name. Able to view ship manifest.
U.S. National Archives
Index to select collections. Tips and links to other immigrant resources.

Global

International Organization for Migration
Data are key to inform migration governance, improve programming and promote a better public understanding of migration.
1619 Project
The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Detailed data on refugees around the world.

Ancestry's Research Guide for Immigrant Ancestors
A 9 page pdf file from Ancestry.com that gives tips on researching your immigrant ancestors.

U.S. Census

Census records often include helpful details about your ancestors and their families and allow you to pinpoint their location at a particular point in time. The most current census available is 1950. Additionally, please keep in mind that the 1890 census was destroyed by fire in 1921 and only very few pages remain for select states.

Look for additional schedules to the decennial census:

Mortality Schedules (FamilySearch.org, 1850-1880; and Ancestry.com, 1850-1885) identify who died in the twelve months prior to the census taking. These are available for the 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880 census.
Slave Schedules (1850 and 1860) identify slave owner names and residences, the number of slaves, sex, race, and age. Names of those enslaved are not normally provided.

Ancestry.com
Requires subscription. Provides easy access to more than 4,000 genealogy databases. Coverage focuses primarily on the United States and the United Kingdom, although other areas are covered. Databases include the complete U.S. Census & Index (1790-1930), vital, church, court, and immigration records.
FamilySearch.org
Contains census records for countries, provinces and states. Many contain actual images.

ENG 1020 - Fales: Records

Immigration

Global

U.S. Census

Ask a Librarian