Research Guides: Sport and Exercise Studies: Library Resources

Library Tools

Tri-C Classic Catalog
To locate materials by title or subject, use the classic catalog.
My Library Account
Renew books, review holds, and check for book deliveries.

Electronic Book Center OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog of millions of books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges, and the State Library of Ohio.
EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Use the EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder to determine whether a particular journal (and article) is available online through OhioLINK.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from more than 10,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles.

Associations & Initiatives

Article Databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full text articles from international (some peer reviewed), reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. Also includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics; covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Sports Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Contains research-based nutrition information by American Dietetic Association Board-Certified Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs). Provides printable client education handouts and meal plans, calculators for BMI, energy expenditure, sweat rate, lean body mass, and healthy body weight. NOTE: This database permits a limited number of users. Always logout when you are done. If the user limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed--wait 15 minutes and try again.

Sport and Exercise Studies eTextbooks

Applied Exercise and Sport Physiology, with Labs
SES 2100

Number of Users at a Time: Unlimited
Motivational Interviewing in Nutrition and Fitness
SES 2500

Number of users at a time: Unlimited

Google Search Engine

Google

To limit to authoritative websites, choose your preferred domain (.edu, .gov or .org) by adding site:.domain

Example

site:.edu to your search.

Be sure not to include any spaces between site: and the domain.

Nutrition & Exercise Web Sites

Credo Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research. Provides background information from dictionaries and encyclopedias on an array of topics from Art to Technology.

Credo PRO/CON
Partnership of CREDO, ProCon.org, and Bloomberg QuickTakes that provides fact-checked, unbiased articles on current events and controversies.

Librarian

Pete Jennings

Email Me

Contact:

Western Campus Library
11000 Pleasant Valley Road
WSS G-111A
Parma, Ohio 44130

216-987-5411

Subject Liaison for: Accounting, Art, Automotive Technology, Business Administration, Business Technology, Construction Engineering Technology, Dance, Economics, Information Technology, Marketing, Mechanical Engineering Technology, Media & Journalism Studies, Music, Theatre Arts, Visual Communications

Sport and Exercise Studies: Library Resources