Finding Articles - ENG 1020 - Reyes (Summer 2024) - Research Guides at Cuyahoga Community College

Need to Choose a Topic?

SIRS A-Z List
Displays list of issues. Click on "A to Z" at far right to sort the list.
Opposing Viewpoints Topic List
Choose "VIEW ALL" in the drop-down box to see the full list.
Points of View Reference Center
Scroll down and expand topic areas for full selection.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great resource to start gathering background research on your topic.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
This chart explains how popular magazines differ from scholarly journals.

Learn quick visual tips for identifying the difference between a scholarly and popular article. [Created by Wayne State University Libraries.]

SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Pros and cons on today’s complex social issues. Includes critical current issues and enduring social issues with full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference material from over 1,800 national and international sources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
An online resource that includes articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines; audio; videos; opinion essays; and primary sources on current controversial issues. A good source of topic ideas for papers and speeches.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.

TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of journal articles and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics include levels from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Washington Post, The Washington Times, USA Today, Christian Science Monitor, Toronto Star.
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.