General Research - ENG 1020 - Kazmier - Research Guides at Cuyahoga Community College

Databases (Articles)

Current Topics / Social Issues

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines; audio; videos; opinion essays; and primary sources on current controversial issues.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Pros and cons on today’s complex social issues. Includes critical current issues and enduring social issues with full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference material from over 1,800 national and international sources.

Definitions, Encyclopedia Entries (Background Information)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The acceptable alternative to WIkipedia--search here for background information on your topic, including historical context--from dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Tri-C Library Catalog
Search for materials located at Eastern, Metropolitan, and Western Libraries.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals in multiple disciplines... a great place to start.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London); transcripts from CBS News, CNN, and more.
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record, covering national and international news, plus speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

Ted.com Ideas Worth Sharing
Nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). Covers topics from science to business to global issues.
How to create a citation for a How do I cite a TED Talk (or any online lecture or speech)?
kanopy
Films, documentaries, and more in a variety of subjects. You must use this link to kanopy AND create an account.