Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID - 19 UPDATE
In response the current COVID - 19 Virus outbreak the libraries at Cuyahoga Community College are currently closed. This means that there is no access to the library's book collection or to course reserve textbooks. We do offer a vast array of e-resources and our librarians are available virtually to assist you with finding, accessing, and citing such sources.
Reconstruction Updated Edition by
From the "preeminent historian of Reconstruction" (New York Times Book Review), the prize-winning classic work on the post-Civil War period that shaped modern America. Eric Foner's "masterful treatment of one of the most complex periods of American history" (New Republic) redefined how the post-Civil War period was viewed. Reconstruction chronicles the way in which Americans--black and white--responded to the unprecedented changes unleashed by the war and the end of slavery. It addresses the ways in which the emancipated slaves' quest for economic autonomy and equal citizenship shaped the political agenda of Reconstruction; the remodeling of Southern society and the place of planters, merchants, and small farmers within it; the evolution of racial attitudes and patterns of race relations; and the emergence of a national state possessing vastly expanded authority and committed, for a time, to the principle of equal rights for all Americans. This "smart book of enormous strengths" (Boston Globe) remains the standard work on the wrenching post-Civil War period--an era whose legacy still reverberates in the United States today.
Publication Date: 2014-12-02
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
Page images of 1,100+ historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers published 1740-1940. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Search by author, source, and words in the complete text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Reference works focusing on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Asst. Professor / Librarian
Subject Liaison for: Accounting
, Business Administration
, Business Technology
, Criminal Justice
, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology
, Hospitality Management
, Information Technology
, Mechanical Engineering Technology
, Political Science
Tri-C Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find books, magazines, journals, newspapers, and audio visual materials.