Research Guides: History: Article Databases

Library Tools

Tri-C Classic Catalog
To locate materials by title or subject, use the classic catalog.
My Library Account
Renew books, review holds, and check for book deliveries.

Electronic Book Center OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog of millions of books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges, and the State Library of Ohio.
EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Use the EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder to determine whether a particular journal (and article) is available online through OhioLINK.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from more than 10,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles.

World Book Encyclopedia

World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
More than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, and selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.

Historical Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History.

History Research Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
Page images of 1,100+ historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers published 1740-1940. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Search by author, source, and words in the complete text.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is a searchable collection of U.S. newspapers that have been fully digitized. The collection includes newspapers published between 1789 and 1963.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Washington Post, The Washington Times, USA Today, Christian Science Monitor, Toronto Star.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
ASC is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications in the humanities.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Reference works focusing on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
AtoZ The World This link opens in a new window
Provides information about world history, cultures, languages, foods, religions, and much more. Useful for country reports, projects, presentations in international and cross-cultural studies, international business, the social sciences, women's studies, and language studies.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Provides country reports that deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available. Users link to the reports via an engaging, map-based interface.
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center
Click the link above, then click "List of Journals" and filter by History.

Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy to use resource for starting your research. Provides background information from dictionaries and encyclopedias on a wide array of topics ranging from Art to Technology. Wiki alternative

Librarian

John Rasel

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

216-987-2321

Subject Liaison for: American Sign Language/Deaf Interpretive Services, Anthropology, Criminal Justice, English, English as a Second Language, Foreign Languages, General Studies, History, Hospitality Management, Philosophy, Physical Education, Political Science, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology, Sport & Exercise Studies, Urban Studies, Women's Studies

History: Article Databases

Library Tools

World Book Encyclopedia

Historical Statistics

History Research Databases

Reference

Librarian

Ask a Librarian