Rhetorical Analysis - ENG 1020 - Reyes - Research Guides at Cuyahoga Community College

Download the assignment

Download the assignment above for complete details.

Content Requirements

Source Requirements

Use at least 1 source from a periodical or newspaper, or a credible website (.edu or .gov).
Include a copy of your image.

Image Formatting

Position image for best rhetorical effect
Include a caption for each image that include:
- a figure number
- a title or description of the image
- the complete source

Paper Requirements

MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of popular magazines covering general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural topics.
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Find articles in the New York Times related to the issues and events in your editorial cartoon.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Washington Post, The Washington Times, USA Today, Christian Science Monitor, Toronto Star.

New York Times (1851-2007)
From Cleveland Public Library. Find articles going back to 1851, if you are choosing to analyze a historical cartoon. **You will need a CPL library card.**
Google Advanced Search
Limit your Google search to .edu or .gov websites by including these terms in "site or domain:". You can also use this search feature by adding "site:gov" or "site:edu" at the end of your regular searches in the Google search bar.

Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Pros and cons on today’s complex social issues. Includes critical current issues and enduring social issues with full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference material from over 1,800 national and international sources.

The Quest for Health Reform: A Satirical History
Georges C. Benjamin and Theodore M. Brown provide a look at editorial cartoons that discuss the national health system and its reform, spanning from the present to the 1800s.
Eat Drink Vote: An Illustrated Guide to Food Politics
Marion Nestle covers political issues dealing with food with over 250 of her own cartoons.

Editorial Cartoonists - Association of American Editorial Cartoonists
Website of the AAEC. Searchable by topic and cartoonist, there are also "lessons" which focus on important events in the going on in the world.
The Week
This archive contains political cartoons published in The Week.
The Cagle Post
Daryl Cagle's website indexes political cartoons by artist, and by trending topic.
The Cartoonist Group- by cartoonist
The Cartoonist Group compiles political cartoons, organized here by artist.
The Cartoonist Group - by subject
The Cartoonist Group is also organized and searchable by subject.
Creators Syndicate
The Creators Syndicate compiles political cartoons, and organizes them based on their political view: conservative or liberal.
CNN Cartoon Archive
This archive contains work from cartoonists Bob Lang and Bill Mitchell.
Cleveland Plain Dealer - Jeff Darcy
Jeff Darcy is a cartoonist who is frequently published in the Cleveland Plain Dealer. Look here for more regional commentary.
Washington Post - Cartoons
Cartoons published by the Washington Post.
Washington Post - Tom Toles
This is a collection of work by Tom Toles. A Pulitzer Prize winner, Mr. Toles was an editorial cartoonist for the Washington Post from 2002 until 2020.
GoComics Editorials
Cartoons can be sorted by artist, political slant, popularity, and international focus.

Editorial Cartoon Digital Collection
The University of Southern Mississippi has scanned over 1,000 cartoons from the members of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists. Most of these cartoons are from the 1960s and 1970s.
Iowa Digital Library - J.N. "Ding" Darling
Contains over 11,000 cartoons from prolific Pulitzer Prize- winning cartoonist Jay N. Darling.
Newspapers in Education - Cartoons in the Classroom
A compilation of different historical and political events, told through the use of political cartoons.
UC San Diego - Dr. Seuss
Famed author and illustrator Dr. Seuss was also an active political cartoonist in the 1940s.