Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cleveland Public Library
Try Literary Criticism Online from Cleveland Public Library. You need a CPL library card to access the database from off-site. Metro Library can issue CPL library cards.
Literary Criticism Online
The most extensive compilation of literary criticism available. It is comprised of the complete contents of 10 individual, award-winning Gale series that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. The following series are included in this database: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Children’s Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography and Something About the Author.
Jitney - title of the play
August Wilson - author of Jitney
Wilson and Jitney
Wilson and [insert character name]
identity and mask
Use these sources to research literary criticism, author biographies, or to study the themes of particular works.
Literary Reference Center Plus
A comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
Literary Resource Center
Explore biographical and critical information, historical context, and social implications. The Literature Resource Center includes full-text journal articles, and literary terms and plot summaries.
MLA International Bibliography
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics, includes literature from all over the world.
Humanities International Complete
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications in the humanities.
Ask a Librarian
|Email a Librarian
Send a reference question to the Tri-C librarians;
we will respond within 2 working days
(Monday through Friday).
|Phone the Reference Desk
Please visit the COVID-19 Research Guide for library services.
|Chat with Us
Click here to chat with us
Librarian Virtual Hours
Friday & Saturday 9am-2pm
E-Resources always available