Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Census records often include helpful details about your ancestors and their families and allow you to pinpoint their location at a particular point in time. The most current census available is 1940.
Look for additional schedules to the decennial census. Mortality Schedules identify who died in the twelve months prior to the census taking. Slave Schedules identify slave owner names and residences, the number of slaves, sex, race, and age. Slave names not normally provided. Additionally, please keep in mind that the 1890 was destroyed and only very few pages remain for select states.
Contains census records for countries, provinces and states. Some contain actual images. Requires free registration.
From Cleveland Public Library. HeritageQuest features the U. S. Census, 1790-1930 (1850-60 Slave Census Schedules not included), The Periodical Source Index (PERSI), A digitized collection of more than 25,000 family and local history books, Records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files and Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874).
Ancestry Library Edition
Available on-campus only. Contains coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.
Requires subscription. Contains abstracts and/or images for U.S. and other countries.
Requires subscription. Contains passenger arrival records, naturalization records, border crossings, emigration records, passports, convict transportation records. U.S. and several other countries.
1820-1892. Information on immigrants from passenger records.
1892-1924. Information on immigrants from passenger records. Search using passenger or ship name. Able to view ship manifest.
U.S. National Archives
Index to select collections. Tips and links to other immigrant resources.