Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ancestry Library Edition
Available on-campus only. Contains coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.
Requires free registration.
Free. Oldest and largest free genealogical website. Contains searchable databases like the Social Security Death Index and the Obituary Daily Times.
US GenWeb Project
Free. Clearinghouse for local genealogical information such as transcribed (copied) marriage, obituary, and tombstone information.
International counterpart to US GenWeb
Requires paid subscription.
Requires paid subscription. Contains military documents, historic documents, and newspaper archives. Browse list here
Cyndi's List has a list of Beginner Guides from around the Web.
Also, try Ancestry.com even though their tutorials are aimed at their site. They do offer short articles, guides and videos for beginners.
TIP: Locate the local library where your ancestor lived and use their genealogy guides. These usually provide links to local resources not found elsewhere.
Cleveland Public Library
Guides, books, and databases from the Cleveland Public Library, including death certificates and obituaries. Access to Ancestry Library Edition.
Cuyahoga County Public Library
Guides, books, and databases from the county library system. Access to Ancestry Library Edition.
Family History Center
Provides access to most of the microfilms and microfiche in the Family History Library to help patrons identify their ancestors. Locations in Solon and Westlake. Operated by LDS.
Western Reserve Historical Society Research Library
Great place for local genealogy searching. Reduced admission price for students.
Message Boards & Mailing Lists
Ancestry.com Message Boards
The world's largest online genealogy community with over 17 Million posts on more than 161,000 boards. Search by surname, topic, or location.
Mailing Lists at RootsWeb
Complete index to RootsWeb's 32,099 genealogy mailing lists.
GenForum by Genealogy.com
Read and share all kinds of information with other family researchers. Search by topic, surname, or location.
These sites can help you locate websites in different states or countries with genealogical records.