HIST2160: African-American History - HIST - Rokicky - Research Guides at Cuyahoga Community College

Library Tools

Tri-C Classic Catalog
To locate materials by title or subject, use the classic catalog.
My Library Account
Renew books, review holds, and check for book deliveries.

Electronic Book Center OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog of millions of books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges, and the State Library of Ohio.
EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Use the EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder to determine whether a particular journal (and article) is available online through OhioLINK.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from more than 10,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles.

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Reference works focusing on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.

For natural phrases such as Jim Crow Laws, be sure to use quotations.

Example: "Jim Crow Laws" and History

To limit to authoritative websites, choose your preferred domain (.edu, .gov or .org) by adding site:.domain

Example

site:.org to your search.

Be sure not to include any spaces between site: and the domain.

"Jim Crow Laws" and History site:.org

NAACP: A Century in the Fight for Freedom
Library of Congress exhibit includes "...manuscripts, photographs, prints, pamphlets, broadsides, audiotapes, phonograph records, films, and video recordings."
National Archives: Black History
Website that gathers and compiles information about/links to Black History resources on the web.
Library of Congress American Memory Project
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."

Email Me

Contact:

11000 W. Pleasant Valley
Parma, OH 44130

216-987-5412