Research Guides: Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Resources

Library Tools

Tri-C Classic Catalog
To locate materials by title or subject, use the classic catalog.
My Library Account
Renew books, review holds, and check for book deliveries.

Electronic Book Center OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog of millions of books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges, and the State Library of Ohio.
EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Use the EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder to determine whether a particular journal (and article) is available online through OhioLINK.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from more than 10,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles.

Google Web Search

To limit your search to authoritative (trusted) sites:
Specify a preferred domain (.edu, .gov or .org) by adding site:.domain to your search.

Example:
"renal cell carcinoma" site:.gov
Be sure to include NO spaces between site: and the domain.

Use quotation marks:
For natural phrases (compound terms), such as traumatic brain injury, be sure to use quotation marks.
Example: "traumatic brain injury"

Article Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
500+ scholarly full text journals, including 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for 1370+ journals.

Career Information / Professional Organizations

Occupational Outlook Handbook:Diagnostic Medical Sonographers and Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians
Career information provided by the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics on sonographers and cardiovascular technologists.
AIUM American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine the Association for Medical Ultrasound
"The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) creates opportunities for passionate medical professionals to improve their knowledge and use of ultrasound in the diagnosis and treatment of patients. Through rigorous research, high-quality education, and evidence-based training and practice resources, the AIUM is leading the global multidisciplinary ultrasound community."
American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers
American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (ARDMS) administers examinations and awards credentials in areas of ultrasound.
Cardiovascular Credentialing International
"To be the recognized credentialing organization for Cardiovascular Technology and emerging medical professionals."
SDMS Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers
Members have access to CME Credit Opportunities and Tracker, Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Salary & Benefits Resources, Career,
Educator and Student Resources, and DMS Foundation Grants & Scholarships.
Society of Vascular Ultrasound
"Established in 1977 in Columbus, OH, SVU became and remains the only professional organization dedicated to the advancement of non-invasive vascular technology used in the diagnosis of vascular disease. The Society’s success for nearly 45 years is a product of the active engagement of our diverse membership of vascular lab professionals."
The American Society of Echocardiography
"The American Society of Echocardiography is an organization of professionals working to advance cardiovascular ultrasound and improve lives through excellence in education, research, innovation, advocacy, and service to the profession and the public."

Journals

YouTube

YouTube

Manufacturer Sites

Profile

Paula DuPerow

Email Me

Contact:

11000 W. Pleasant Valley
Parma, OH 44130

216-987-5412

Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Resources