Research Guides: African American History: Websites and Streaming Videos

Videos and Multimedia

PBS Video Collection
This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface.
Kanopy
Access to digital films in a variety of subjects. You will need to create an account to use Kanopy.

Tri-C Classic Catalog
To locate materials by title or subject, use the classic catalog.
My Library Account
Renew books, review holds, and check for book deliveries.

Electronic Book Center OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog of millions of books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges, and the State Library of Ohio.
EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Use the EBSCO Electronic Journal Finder to determine whether a particular journal (and article) is available online through OhioLINK.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from more than 10,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles.

African American History Museum
From the Smithsonian Institution.
African American Odyssey
From the Library of Congress.
Archival Research Catalog (ARC) of the National Archives
An official U.S. Government web resource.
HathiTrust
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items.
details...less...
HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
Historic American Newspapers
"Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
New York Public Library Digital Collections
American civilization and the Negro: the Afro-American in relation to national progress
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic (Library of Congress Exhibition)

Email Me

Contact:

LMS Faculty Ambassador
Office Hours:
MSS 311
M/W - 11:00am-2:00pm
T/Th - 12:00pm-2:00pm
Virtual Office Hours:
By Appointment

216-987-4591

Subject Liaison for: Accounting, Business Administration, Business Technology, Construction Engineering Technology, Criminal Justice, Economics, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technology, History, Hospitality Management, Information Technology, Marketing, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering Technology, Political Science, Psychology