Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics, includes literature from all over the world.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Reference works focusing on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles on topics in multiple disciplines, useful as a starting point for most subjects.
Online Reference Books
20th Century African-American Poetry
20th Century African-American Poetry contains 12,000 poems by more than 100 African-American poets, including Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes, Rita Dove, and emerging poets. Biographical profiles accompany each poets work.
20th Century American Poetry
20th Century American Poetry contains 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets.
African-American Poetry 1760-1900
African-American Poetry 1760-1900 includes the full text of almost 3000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy to use resource for starting your research. Provides background information from dictionaries and encyclopedias on a wide array of topics ranging from Art to Technology.
Early American Fiction
Early American Fiction contains 440 works of 80 novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850.
Find research on authors and titles and then use the print volumes to find and read the information.
Literature Reference Books
Includes Poetry for Students, Short Stories for Students, Novels for Students, Black Literature Criticism, Drama for Students and much more
A classic reference work for more than sixty years, Masterplots analyzes the most important works in all genres—long fiction, short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction—throughout history and around the world, helping to define and critique the literary canon.
Subject Liaison for: Accounting
, Automotive Technology
, Business Administration
, Business Technology
, Information Technology
, Mechanical Engineering Technology
, Media & Journalism Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Visual Communications